Studio 36 is a new music studio based at EartH for young musicians in London. Find out more & become an early supporter >>click here<<

Ibibio Sound Machine

Fronted by Nigerian singer Eno Williams, Ibibio Sound Machine is a clash of African and electronic elements inspired in equal measure by the golden era of West-African funk + disco and modern post-punk & electro.

The band’s self-titled debut album was released in 2014 on Soundway Records. The follow-up, ‘Uyai’, was released in 2017 on Merge Records.

Ibibio Sound Machine is Eno Williams (vocals), Alfred Kari Bannerman (guitar), Anselmo Netto (percussion), Jose Joyette (drums), Derrick McIntyre (bass), Tony Hayden (trombone, synth), Scott Baylis (trumpet, synth), and Max Grunhard (saxophone, synth).

On their new album, Doko Mien, Rough Trade says, “Sweet strong vocals play over funky wah wah space-guitars, percussive carnival beats and squelching synths.”

  • “Borderless groove polymaths”

    The Guardian
  • “The third studio album from Ibibio Sound Machine sounds like someone has taken all the best bits from a really terrific festival and put them in one place: a dance party that’s compellingly listenable, that grabs music from all over the place and synthesises the different elements perfectly.”

    Financial Times
  • “On their third album ‘Doko Mien’, the eight piece wonders are heading deeper into their funk odyssey than ever before.”